Introducing Recon: Invariant Testing Made Easy

I’m Alex The Entreprenerd, I’ve been developing on the EVM since 2019, having worked with BadgerDAO in shipping eBTC, Building multiple Yield Strategies, one of which was used in production by Yearn, as well as multiple small Open Source Contributions.

I’ve been Squashing bugs at Code4rena, Spearbit, and Sherlock, and have found bugs in Velodrome V2, Optimism, Tapioca, Ethos, Chainlink, Pool Together and many more.

I’m writing to share the work we’ve been doing at Recon, with the hope that this helps projects ship safer, more thoroughly reviewed code by making Invariant Testing accessible to all developers.

Introducing Recon

Recon helps you write and run invariant tests.

We offer a free Invariant Test Scaffolding Tool, to help developers build their invariant tests quickly.

Build your Handlers, free for all Open Source Foundry Repos

We also offer a paid service to run invariant tests in the cloud which we call Recon Pro.

Which we’ve been offering to projects like eBTC and Centrifuge to help strengthen their security.

Recon Pro Shareable Job Page

Why

Due to my work, I have reverse-engineered the vast majority of exploits that have happened over the past few years.

I’m going to tell two personal stories about a couple of projects that got exploited, and why this led me to build Recon.

ELASTIC SWAP

Back in 2022, donation attacks were somewhat of a novel vector.

The Elasticswap codebase was reviewed by Code4rena, an org I’ve been working with since 2021.

Vulnerable Lines- Credit: https://quillaudits.medium.com/decoding-elastic-swaps-850k-exploit-quillaudits-9ceb7fcd8d1a

An attacker found out that by donating some tokens, they were able to convince the AMM to give away more value than intended, leading to a loss of $850k.

A simple donation attack lead to this.

How is it possible that nobody tried this?

Was there a way to automate this?

EULER